A Brief Overview of Virginia’s Drug Possession Laws

In Virginia, drug possession laws classify substances into different schedules according to their likelihood to cause addiction and loss of life. The consequences of being charged with drug possession vary depending on the schedule of the drug you are accused of having. Whenever you face drug possession charges, hire a criminal defense attorney to help you face these serious allegations. Book

The most serious drug possession charge is for a Schedule I substance, which includes heroin and LSD. Possession of these drugs is a Class 5 felony that could lead to a 10-year prison sentence and $2,500 fine. The least serious charge is for possession of a Schedule VI substance, which is a Class 4 misdemeanor with a potential $250 fine. A criminal defense attorney can fight for these charges to be dropped or reduced to limit potential sentences and fines.

Johnson Law Firm is here to fight for your rights when you face criminal charges and require a drug possession attorney or need a car accident lawyer on your side. Make an appointment with a drug possession attorney in Woodbridge, VA today by calling (703) 670-0761.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *