What Are the Penalties For A DUI Conviction in Virginia?
Driving under the influence (DUI) is considered a public safety issue, which is why authorities in Virginia aggressively prosecute drivers who are accused of this crime. If you are convicted, you may face a number of serious penalties that could impact every part of your life. Here’s an overview of the penalties imposed on DUI offenders in Virginia:
Penalties For First-Time DUI Offenders
You can face severe penalties for a DUI conviction even if you are a first-time offender. In Virginia, first-time offenders can face a mandatory fine of at least $250. First-time offenders will also lose their driving privileges for a period of one year.
Penalties For Second DUI Offense
Repeat offenders face additional DUI penalties in Virginia. All second-time DUI offenders will face a minimum fine of $500 and three-year driver’s license revocation, and possible jail time.
But if this is your second offense within a ten-year period, jail time isn’t just a possibility. These DUI offenders must spend a minimum of five days behind bars. If this is your second offense within a five-year period, the jail sentence is increased to a minimum of 20 days.
Penalties For Third DUI Offense
If this is your third offense within a ten-year period, you will be ordered to forfeit your vehicle to the court. You will also be sentenced to at least 90 days in jail. If this is your third offense in five years, the jail sentence is increased to at least six months.
Penalties For Fourth or Subsequent Offense
The most severe penalties are imposed on defendants with four or more DUI convictions on their record. If this is your fourth or subsequent offense, you will face substantial fines and lose your driving privileges. These repeat offenders will also spend at least one year behind bars.
High Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) Can Lead to Enhanced Penalties
The penalties are even worse for DUI offenders who had a BAC above 0.15% at the time of their arrest. This is true regardless of whether it is your first or fourth DUI offense. For example, first-time offenders who had a BAC between 0.15% and 0.20% will spend at least five days in jail. This jail sentence is increased to at least 10 days for first-time offenders who had a BAC above 0.20% at the time of their arrest.
Discuss Your Case With Our DUI Defense Attorneys Today
Don’t fight DUI charges alone—turn to the experienced DUI defense attorneys at Johnson Law Firm for help. James Johnson is a skilled criminal defense attorney who is committed to helping his clients fight for their freedom. Let him stand by your side, protect your rights, and work tirelessly to reach the best possible outcome in your case.
If you are facing DUI charges, schedule a free consultation with Johnson Law Firm today to learn more about your legal options. To book your consultation, call (703) 670-0761 or submit your information using this contact form.