If you were a pedestrian, a cyclist, or another driver injured by an Uber or Lyft driver who was not carrying a passenger, you will need to determine exactly what the rideshare driver was doing at the time of the accident in order to establish the responsible party – or parties – for the accident. Rideshare accidents can be tricky in that regard because Uber or Lyft are not always on the hook, depending on what the driver was doing.

In other words, was the driver logged in to the rideshare app, and was he or she on the way to pick up a passenger? Was the driver waiting to be matched with a passenger? In any situation where the driver is logged in to the app – with or without a passenger in the vehicle – the rideshare company – Uber or Lyft may offer different levels of coverage, and you may also have to file a claim through the driver’s personal insurance carrier.

How is Compensation Dependent on a Rideshare Driver’s Status?

What changes is the amount of coverage offered by the company. If the driver was logged in and waiting for a ride request, Uber and Lyft offer coverage of up to $50,000.00 per person ($100,000.00 in total injuries) and up to $25,000.00 in property damage coverage. If your accident took place in such a situation, you are likely going to need to file a claim with the rideshare company as well as with the driver’s personal insurance company.

The coverage amount goes up when a passenger is riding in the vehicle or if the driver has been matched with a passenger and is enroute to pick them up. Uber and Lyft will cover losses up to $1 million. If the driver was not logged in to the app, then the rideshare company is not liable for any claims and you will be dealing with the driver’s personal insurance for your claim.

What Are the Complications Involved in Determining Fault?

As you can see, rideshare accident claims are not always straightforward because you might find yourself dealing with multiple parties responsible for your claim, depending on the exact circumstances involving the accident. If you believe the driver was logged in the app when they caused the accident, you will need to gather enough evidence to prove that driver was at-fault, as rideshare companies will often attempt to dismiss your claim or add complications that might prevent you from recovering any compensation.

Can A Rideshare Accident Lawyer Help?

Consulting a personal injury attorney is recommended if you have been injured by a rideshare driver in Virginia. The Johnson Law Firm, PC helps countless clients in Gainesville, Woodbridge, and surrounding areas in Virginia and can help you analyze the circumstances of your case, determine who is responsible, and put together a strong claim to maximize your potential to recover compensation for your accident. Contact us today for a free case evaluation.